Lentil Turkey Salad

I did something a couple of weeks ago that I’d like to make a habit— I chopped up and roasted a bunch of veggies on Sunday, for use during the week. I buy these huge bags of broccoli and onions at Costco, and it can be a challenge for us to eat them quickly enough. I’d eat them raw, but Mom is convinced that she’s not allowed to eat raw vegetables, so roasting them means, in theory, we’ll both eat them. (Though I tend to be okay with them cold in the summer, and she’d rather everything be served hot.)

I wanted to make a cold salad for our Arbonne thing that would be easy for lunches, so I cooked up some green lentils and bought a turkey breast. I chopped up a couple of cups of turkey and about that of lentils, and mixed it with broccoli, onions, zucchini, and red pepper I washed and diced and broiled on high in olive oil, zest and juice of a lemon, salt, pepper, and crushed red pepper. (One large red pepper, and about two diced cups each of onion, zucchini, and broccoli.) I sprinkled the whole thing with dried parsley and mixed up a vinaigrette of 2/3 cup olive oil, 1/3 cup red wine vinegar, 1 T garlic and 1 T prepared mustard (we had spicy brown, but any mustard would probably work here. Dijon especially.) I tossed it all together. I meant to include some fresh diced celery, for crunch and freshness, but forgot this time.

Flavorful, healthful, gluten-, refined sugar-, and dairy-free, and filled with enough good proteins, fiber, and fat to be filling!

2 thoughts on “Lentil Turkey Salad

  1. Pingback: Arbonne 30-day Cleanse, Day 1 | Adventures of Auntie M

  2. Pingback: Arbonne, Day 3 | Adventures of Auntie M

So what do you think?

