Gardening Hack: Drying Herbs

With all the herbs I’m growing and all the projects I’m considering, I needed a better solution for drying herbs.

My solution so far? I get a long string, tie a bunch of [insert herb here] to both ends and hang it in a dark, little-used area. In my condo, it was over the showerhead of the guest bath. In my current place, it’s over a curtainrod in a corner of my basement (but sadly in a place I suspect annoys my mother no end because of where she likes to hang laundry). It’s totally workable, but it doesn’t scale particularly well and it’s not convenient when you have someone who wants to use the guest bathroom, say, or someone who objects to your drying herbs in such a fashion.

I searched online and found lovely forged-iron drying racks with six decorative hooks (extra sets of three hooks $5 each) apparently for people who display their drying herbs in their kitchen. Thankfully, my kitchen is way too sunny to dry my herbs there (I don’t know why darkness is specified in every set of instruction I’ve ever seen— probably to preserve color), so I don’t need a decorative solution, just a scalable one.

God bless IKEA. They invented this:

drying rack

If you look online, you’ll see it’s $10-ish.  I’ll be honest, in the store, I paid that for two. Sixteen little clothespins per, and an octopus joke to boot. I bundled my yarrow with a rubber band and hung it from one of the little clothespins. Done and done. Compact and straightforward. I can go in and add bundles of mint, oregano, lavender, and rosemary and not overwhelm the system. I also got one for mom for drying clothes, so we don’t have to fight over it.

One thought on “Gardening Hack: Drying Herbs

So what do you think?

