Sourdough Wheat Rolls

I made these about a week ago, to go with my version of cassoulet.

It’s a good recipe, though I used the recipe writer’s suggestion of 1/2 white and 1/2 wheat flour, and I used brown sugar, not white, and the wheat flavor entirely masked any of the sourdough. I haven’t loved the flavor of the starter I’m using. I’m finding that it’s not very flavorful, generally. I may start experimenting with it, to see if I can’t develop its flavor better.

Here are some process photos.

img_2746

I was very pleased with how well they rose, and how much better of a rhythm was possible. I made the dough on a Sunday night, let it rise overnight, made the rolls before work, let them rise all day, and baked them for dinner.


I’d be inclined to make them a little smaller or use a bigger pan. I did double the recipe and freeze half, but it’s definitely something to keep working on.


2 thoughts on “Sourdough Wheat Rolls

  1. I think the older the starter, the more sour the dough. 🙂 I think it also depends on its environment…I seem to remember reading that it draws yeast particles from the air and incorporated them from baking bread, brewing\drinking beer, etc. Such a fascinating process! So I think the moral of the story is to break out the fancy beer while whispering sweet nothings to and caressing your starter. 😉

    • Wow— not only does my sourdough starter need a name, apparently, it’s a whole relationship! 🙂

      I’ve been thinking its flavor would be stronger with age, but it’s now nearly two months old, and though the smell of it is very sourdough-y (baked and raw), the taste is not (not bad, but it’s on the bland side and I like my sourdough strong). On the whole, it’s a successful experiment, but one I’m trying to improve nonetheless. It’s leavening well, it responds well to feeding— I’ve wondered about feeding it a different kind of flour or adding sugar or beer to it, when next I feed it. I do let it sit on the counter all day on the day I feed it, and I cover it only loosely, so that it can absorb ambient yeast.

      It is a fascinating process!

So what do you think?

