Book Review: The Best Yes

Lysa Terkeurst’s The Best Yes was recommended by someone who was, as usual, right on, with her recommendation. It’s a book about how you have to make choices about how you spend your time/energy. I’ve read many of these books, but this isn’t focused on productivity. She introduces a use of the word “bankruptcy,” and proposes that you filter requests and opportunities through several criteria, to prevent bankruptcy in any of them. The ones she proposes are:
  • Physical
  • Financial
  • Spiritual
  • Emotional

As I think about times when I’ve gotten overwhelmed, it’s usually spiritually or emotionally. I say yes to something because it’s a physical possibility for me, but it overextends me and I start to suffer emotionally or spiritually. Or I say yes because I can technically make the money work, but it doesn’t work on other levels.

I had several a-ha moments, reading it. Her perspective was warm and human. She suggested playing decisions out to their consequences, before deciding, in a way that I thought could help me avoid some of the short-term emotional eating that can sometimes be a challenge for me.

I suspect I’ll need to own this one, and read it frequently, to get the best from it.

Things you should know if you’re thinking of reading it— it is written from a Christian woman’s perspective. She’s a mom, and some of her examples are mothering-related. In reader reviews I saw, people felt like that detracted from the value, but that wasn’t my experience. Of course, I knew those things going in, and they aren’t limiters to me. Her style is personal and casual. Again, apparently not for everyone, though it works for me. I’m not sure if most guys would feel as strong a connection to it, because she’s kind of speaking woman to woman, but a guy for whom that wouldn’t be a problem might enjoy it.

So what do you think?

