Lenten Challenge, Day 20: Future Me, Past Me

I’ve gotta say, as much as I hate daylight savings time in the morning (when it’s clearly much too early for my alarm to be going off), evening daylight does not suck.

Here’s the thing: Because I was focused on closet purge and taxes, I didn’t do anything this weekend to help future me to be ready for this week. So I’m waking up late and exhausted, having made no provision for breakfast or lunch, and it’s not a good thing.

I talk about doing things for future me, but this weekend was all about managing things that past me couldn’t quite juggle. And so future me has to suffer the consequences of that. It’s just a useful way for me to think about it. If you think that Gretchen Rubin’s Four Tendencies has anything to it, as an Obliger, I try to keep my commitments to others but not my commitments to myself. If I can think of future me as an “other,” sometimes I can prioritize her needs more appropriately than if I ignore her, which is how I normally treat her.

Cleaning-wise, I managed to scrub a toilet bowl and get the dishes in the dishwasher after dinner. I was pet-sitting this weekend (hello, Obliger), so if you wrap in the visits to my friend’s house to feed his cat, those factored into my cleaning time, too. I was able to do my taxes and get them submitted, which is the big test of password recall for things like my student loans and mortgage sites. I’m excited to be on the other side of my taxes, but still have mom’s to do (Obliger).

This morning, I also managed to steal the dog’s blanket and throw it in the wash before I left the house. If I hang it at lunchtime, it might be dry enough for him to use tonight. Our first physical therapy appointment tonight— wish us luck!

So what do you think?

