Uncertainty

I don’t think of myself as a wildly impatient person. At least, not anymore. I feel like I’ve made a lot of strides in this area since I was a small child. And even as a small child, my mom was not one to be rushed, so I learned to bide my time. Whining and cajoling never really worked on her, but occasionally, you’d get what you wanted through good behavior and not bugging her. So that’s what I do.

Except when situations are out of my hands.

I submit an application for my pup, and the waiting drives me to binge-shop.

I extend an invitation, and I’m anxious until the first replies come in.

I wait to hear the results of a process, and I’m a fingernail chewing mass of nervous tics.

One would think that this would be a simple matter of distraction— focus on something else. But how do you focus on something else when you’re in limbo in any area of your life? No matter how busy I am, I am never short of time to perseverate on the ball once it’s out of my court.

Any constructive suggestions?

So what do you think?

