Things to Love About Fall

If we had doubted fall’s impending arrival in Colorado, the chilly, foggy day we’ve had has removed any such doubts. It’s on its way. So I’m starting a list of things I love about fall, because I know better than to fight the weather here.

  • Sweater weather. In April, I hate that phrase. But in September, I have sweaters I love that I haven’t seen in awhile, and some new things to put together.
  • Boots. For a girly girl, no more need be said.
  • Pumpkin-based confections. Pancakes, shakes— whatever. All those spices work great for me! I don’t even eat Twinkies, but a friend posted a recipe for pumpkin Twinkies with cream cheese-marshmallow cream. Lose the marshmallow, and I could totally be into that.
  • Squash as a side dish. Spaghetti squash, acorn squash, whatever.
  • The return of evenings by the fire.
  • The return of cozy bedding. I basically put away all blankets of any kind in the summer, because I’m not willing to run my a/c at night, and I can’t sleep if it’s more than 73 degrees. Blankets are a non-starter. But I’m also snuggly by nature, and I’ve missed that.
  • Going back to the gym. Again, by spring, I’m totally over it, and I go almost never during the summer, preferring to hike/bike/swim/whatever outside. But in the fall, it’s kind of nice to get back to the classes you like, the routine of going to the gym at a certain time every day.
  • I love the fall colors, when we get them. Sometimes, we go from green directly to brown, but I love the changing leaves, the fallen leaves (when they’re not sodden from snow.) I’m even changing out my tablecloth, duvet and throw pillows from greens and blues to reds and browns, and switching to a fall bag, and the changes give me a little charge.
  • I don’t eat soups or casseroles, etc. when it’s hot, and I don’t drink hot beverages. But that sort of thing is warm and homey at this time of year.
  • I’m a Thanksgiving baby, and I love everything about that holiday that is unrelated to Black Friday—the family time, the special food, the rituals and traditions, the spending 10 hours making a meal you can’t possibly eat in one sitting. Love. It.
  • I love the scents of the season. The acrid smell of leaves, late in the season. The cinnamon/apple scents of things. The smell of fireplaces going. The particular smell of a very cold day. Some days, fall smells like the incense we use at church. That makes me feel like all of life is holy. I sometimes need the sensory reminder.
  • Denver Broncos football.
  • The ballet in town often does a performance of Dracula. They really do a good job, and there’s something wonderful about the ritual. Even being back in a regular theater/opera/dance season gives me things to look forward to.
  • I love the back-to-school of it all. I love the class I teach, I love talking about school with people who are going— I love it.

What do you love about fall?

So what do you think?

