Be Good to Yourself/When Nobody Else Will

We’ve already established that I tend to be too hard on myself. A friend and I were comparing notes, yesterday, and came up with some ideas about exactly how that looks:

  • She confessed that she didn’t know why, but she ate yogurt for lunch that she thought might be well past its prime, even though she had a lunch bag full of items that didn’t turn her stomach. I understood, having poured highly questionable almond milk on my healthy breakfast, that morning, though I had a perfectly unquestionable carton available.
  • I have several items that my cat’s (the male has problematically large claws, the female is more intentionally destructive, but she has dainty thin claws that make her have to work at causing visible damage [which I can usually prevent], where the male does it by accident all the time) claws have damaged. The holes are visible (though small— nothing more than a centimeter), and I know that I should absolutely not wear these items out of the house, yet I won’t get rid of the garments and I do wear them out of the house now and then. And spend the whole time wondering if people are looking at the small holes in my clothes. Now, some of this is because he’s damaged several of my favorite things, and though I have way more clothes than I need, I don’t have things to replace them that I like as well, but still. (Why I think anyone else would want them is a whole other question.)
  • I have all kinds of little problems around the house that I won’t call a handyman to resolve. Some are things I know I just won’t get around to (one item has been a moderately to severely annoying issue for the seven years I’ve owned the place), other things are repairs that I’ve made, but that haven’t resolved the problem in a lasting way. I suspect that the handyman whose number I have had for over a year could knock out most of these in less than an afternoon, for almost nothing, and yet, I won’t make the call.
  • I think we all do these things, but during high-stress times, I stop working out, stop eating healthy, and am tempted to sacrifice all of the hard-won benefits of living a healthy lifestyle. I cook less, clean less, sleep less,  and generally take care of myself in ways that are counter-productive to my handling the stress well.

How do you give yourself a kick in the pants when you know you’re part of the problems you’re facing?

So what do you think?

