Daring Greatly

So I mentioned that my boss left and there was speculation about whether I’d be offered his position. I wasn’t. They informed me that they were going to conduct a candidate search, and I informed them they’d have me to vet as a candidate. In the couple of months that have transpired since then, I went through four formal interviews and found out yesterday that I came in second, of the six candidates they interviewed. And their first choice accepted the job.

Let’s not kid ourselves— I’m disappointed that I didn’t get it. It would have been a pretty serious endorsement of me professionally, and the extra tens of thousands of dollars in salary—well, I’d have found a way to come to terms even with those.

But I think there are a lot of benefits that came from my putting it out there that I thought I was qualified, and making a case for myself. I’m not sorry that I made the effort. Last night, I happened to encounter this quote from Brene Brown (author of a book called Daring Greatly that I highly recommend, and whose title inspired my own):

“If you’re going into the arena, you’re going to get your butt kicked… But as scary and dangerous as that sounds, I don’t think it’s as bad as spending your life on the outside wondering ‘what if I had showed up?’.”

Have you taken a risk lately? Tried something and failed? Tell me about it in the comments! 

4 thoughts on “Daring Greatly

  1. I’m a firm believer in stepping outside of your comfort zone. I spent too much of my life afraid to take risks. I think it’s great that you tried. It shows that you have confidence in yourself and that you value yourself.

  2. Pingback: Quit Yer Moping! | Adventures of Auntie M

  3. Pingback: Cup Running Over | Adventures of Auntie M

So what do you think?

