#BookADay

A bookstore in the UK has proposed a Twitter project for June in which you tweet about a book a day, all month long. And because it sounds way less likely to cause me to throw up than that ab challenge thing that’s also going on every day in June (seriously— 105 situps in week two? We know it’s summer and we’re supposed to be enjoying our lives, right?), I thought I’d do this one. But you all get the whole list all at once. Because these are made up challenges and I say so.

  1. Favorite book from childhood: Charlotte’s Web by E.B. White.
  2. Best bargain: The Dance of Anger by Harriet Lerner. I originally listened to the book on tape from the library, and then found the book years later in a garage sale 800 miles from home. Aside from costing me, like $1, God knows how much therapy it’s saved me.
  3. One with a blue cover: Bel Canto by Ann Patchett
  4. Least favorite book by a favorite author: The BFG by Roald Dahl. I feel a little disloyal about this one, because it was a favorite of a niece and nephew. And it’s not bad at all. But Roald Dahl is soo good everywhere else, this just wasn’t his best (in my subjective and apologetic opinion).
  5. Doesn’t belong to me: The Red Tent by Anita Diamant
  6. The one I always give as a gift: Anne of Green Gables by L.M. Montgomery
  7. Forgot I owned it: Girl, Interrupted by Susannah Kaysen
  8. Have more than one copy: The Wizard of Oz by L. Frank Baum. Because I have a beautiful, hardbound, illustrated version and when I thought I was going to write my thesis on the postmodern trend I talked about here, I bought a cheap paperback copy to mark up.
  9. Film or TV tie-in: The Girl on Fire: Your Favorite Authors on Suzanne Collins’s Hunger Games Trilogy by Leah Wilson
  10. Reminds me of someone I love: The Kitchen God’s Wife by Amy Tan
  11. Secondhand bookshop gem: The Complete Works of William Shakespeare two volumes, $15. Saved me a $75 text, my sophomore year in college. Also The Joy of Cooking by the Rombauers.
  12. I pretend to have read it: Beowulf
  13. Makes me laugh: The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy by Douglas Adams
  14. An old favorite: Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte
  15. Favorite fictional father: Pa from Charlotte’s Web
  16. Can’t believe more people haven’t read it: The Cinder-Eyed Cats by Eric Rohmann. A beautiful picture book I bought back in the day when I got an employee discount at a great little indie that doesn’t exist any more.
  17. Future classic: Expecting Adam: A True Story of Birth, Rebirth, and Everyday Magic by Martha N. Beck
  18. Bought on a recommendation: Possession by A.S. Byatt. Seriously one of the most beautiful and artistically provoking books I’ve ever encountered. And I was entirely bullheaded about reading it, so I didn’t know it for, like, 10 years longer than it should have taken me to find it.
  19. Still can’t stop talking about it: 100 Selected Poems by e.e. cummings
  20. Favorite cover: The Hobbit by J.R.R. Tolkien. In college, I tutored a second-grader who was having trouble reading. We had a rough couple of weeks where we made no progress, until I figured out that (1) he was not getting attention at home, and if I paid attention to him, he’d do anything, and (2) he just hadn’t found anything that captured his atrophied imagination. So a book with foil runes on the cover went a long way, and adventures and dragons went the rest of the way.
  21. Summer read: Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants by Ann Brashares
  22. Out of print: No  Children, No Pets by Marion Holland.
  23. Made to read at school: Heart of Darkness by Joseph Conrad
  24. Hooked me in to reading: Doctor Dolittle by Hugh Lofting. My brother (who could give lessons in how to be an awesome older brother, BTW) patiently read this to me while I was in pre-school. I’m ridiculously lucky, and this book reminds me of that.
  25. Never finished: The Grapes of Wrath by John Steinbeck.
  26. Should have sold more copies: I Am Not Sick I Don’t Need Help by Xavier Amador. This is a book about trying to help a family member with mental illness like severe bipolar disorder, schizophrenia, etc., where part of the symptoms are that the patient doesn’t recognize that they’re ill. It’s very practical and helpful.
  27. Want to be one of the characters: The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe by C.S. Lewis
  28. Bought at my favorite independent bookstore: The Collected Works of Sylvia Plath
  29. Have reread most often: Charlie and the Chocolate Factory by Roald Dahl
  30. Would save if my house burned down: The Hobbit and The Fellowship of the Ring trilogy by J.R.R. Tolkien. They’re terribly beat-up and old, but I love them.
So what do you think?

